Glendale Riverhills

President’s Education Awards

What is the award?

The purpose of the President’s Education Awards program is to recognize academic success in the classroom. The two categories of awards are the President’s Award for Educational Excellence (i.e. academic success) and the President’s Award for Educational Achievement (i.e. students that show outstanding educational growth, improvement, commitment or intellectual development in their academic subjects).

Recipients of awards each receive a letter from the president, and a certificate.

Who’s eligible for the President's Award for Educational Excellence?

To be eligible students must meet the requirements in BOTH of these categories:
Category 1: Grade Point Average
Students must have grade point average of 90 on a 100 point scale from grades 5 through the fall semester of the 8th grade.

Category 2: Standardized Achievement Test or Adult Recommendations - Achievement in the 85th percentile or higher in math or reading on the State test OR Recommendations from a teacher to reflect outstanding achievement such as English, mathematics, science, history, geography, art, foreign language, and any other courses that reflect a school's core curriculum.

Who’s eligible for the President's Award For Educational Achievement?

This award encourages and rewards students who work hard and give their best effort in school, often in the face of special obstacles to their learning. The criteria should reflect the purpose of the award and must be applied fairly to all students.
The following are examples of criteria for which the President's Award for Educational Achievement may be presented:
  • Show tremendous growth but not meet all the criteria for the President's Award for Educational Excellence.
  • Demonstrate unusual commitment to learning in academics despite various obstacles.
  • Maintain a school record that would have met the school's selection criteria for the President's Award for Educational Excellence but illness, personal crisis, or special needs prevented the student from maintaining such high standards despite hard work.
  • Achieve high scores or show outstanding growth, improvement, commitment or intellectual development in particular subjects, such as English, math, science, etc.
  • Demonstrate achievement in the arts such as music or theater.

2010-11 Educational Excellence Recipients

Daniell Sobelman, Victoria Guzowski-Travia, Matthew Appleby, Adrianna Wells, Daniel Zenge, Niko Wynn-Beavers, Israel Baldenegro, Lea Garrett, Nolan Grant, Adam Sellers, Aaron Kauer, Armando Astemborski, Brian Aronica, Conor Byrne, Nicholas Just, Carra Brogan, Jacob Nikolay, Molly Welter, Wayne Martin, Brad Parsons, Rebecca Perl, Ian Eichenbaum, Laura Slattery, Zindzi Wynn-Beavers, Kendall Holloway, Colin Mitchell, Quaid Simpson, Mikayla DeMaio, Jackson Cielak, Brionne' Candie, Janay Briggs-Wragg, Ian Koscinski, and Joshua Levelius

2010-11 Educational Achievement Awards

Serena Miller, Cody Longreen, Jacob Tait, Claire Olig, Jacob Teper, Hunter Buttrum, Katherine Lane, Steven Llanas, Khang Vu, Cassandra Meyers, Audrey Simon, Zahra Farahbakhsh, Amina Maamouri, Nacaira Davis, Samantha Gorman, Kevin Ballecer, Lawrence Martin III, Hubert Law, Rebecca Lubar, Madeleine Haworth, Jordan Perry, Sarah Zelazoski